XxX Straight Edge XxX

edge

Hey….Back again! 🙂 It sure has been a minute.

I really need to get back into the swing of blogging again. I miss having the time to read every single blog on my feed but I just don’t have the time lately. I am trying to catchup and read again but WOW am I following aload of amazing bloggers! There are so many of you’s who post daily posts that are so spectacular. How do you guys do it?.

Not really sure why but today I’m going to do a post about Straight Edge. Cause why not 🙂

Wikipedia says Straight edge is a subculture of hardcore punk whose adherents refrain from using alcohol, tobacco and other recreational drugs and for some this extends to refraining from engaging in promiscuous sex, following a vegetarian or vegan diet, and/or not using caffeine or prescription drugs.

I have labelled myself as a member of the Straight Edge community for awhile now. (Since about 11 or 12) I think now is about time I am going to stop referring to my self as Straight Edge.  It’s not that I now drink and do drugs and all. I just don’t think I need to have a label for what I don’t want to do any more.

I don’t think Straight Edge was a term suited well for me. I do enjoy the music that Inspired the term but I am not a massive fan so I don’t think I need to be labelled as Straight edge and I don’t think I  need to say I am part of the community of those who are Straight edge.

Back then I felt I needed to have that label. I used it as explanation and excuse I guess for a reason to why I don’t drink,smoke etc when people asked ( Which was silly of me). At that time many others my age had just started to drink and all and everyone always asked why I didn’t. I simply didn’t want to so after watching Pattys Walters ”Why I’m Straight Edge” video I decided that was how I would tell people and I began to refer to myself as being Edge, using it as an unnecessary explanation.

I should of just said I simply didn’t want to. I didn’t need to label myself and find a bigger reason than necessary. I can do what I like. I like NOT drinking alcohol and NOT smoking. I like NOT using recreational drugs. I don’t need a term or label to NOT do these things. I don’t have to do these things If I don’t want to and that’s perfectly okay.

I think Straight Edge is wonderful and I have so much respect for those who follow the lifestyle.

I think its a wonderful subculture and if you ever have the time you should look into it and it’s history.

I am not Straight Edge. I no longer label myself as Straight Edge.

I simply just don’t want to drink,smoke etc. I hope to not drink, smoke etc for my entire life and I plan to keep doing so.

10005227_840688222613956_1371686008_n

Here is a cringe worthy photo of when I decided to show my definite choice for being edge using the signature X on the hand. What a throwback aghh. :’)

This was quite a rambling post. Not sure why I started it but glad I did because I feel that bit more comfortable.

You don’t need a label,subculture,term or anything like that to explain why you do something or don’t do something.

You can just do or don’t do it.

How have you all been?. 🙂

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “XxX Straight Edge XxX

  1. I’ve heard a lot of people talk about this and being labeled as this. I never really got it myself but that’s okay. You just be you. You don’t need a label. And I’m so
    happy you’re choosing not to drink or smoke or anything. There aren’t enough people in this world like that nowadays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

